Home Vendors Shows & Events Engaged Couples Real Weddings Inspiration Fashion Blog
Our Company
- About - Contact - Privacy Policy - Order Magazine - Publicity Materials
Advertising Info
- Media Kit - Print Ad Specs - Vendor Login
Online Resources
- Marriage License

Stay Informed

Marriage License


How do I go about obtaining a marriage license? Marriage License Laws

A new service enables you to process your license on Saturday, The County Clerk’s office is now available each Saturday at the Kearny Mesa Branch Office from 9:00am to 3:00pm. And, in addition to obtaining your marriage license, you may also have a Deputy Marriage Commissioner perform a civil ceremony for you for the nominal fee of $50. (This is in addition to your marriage license fee). Another great service available in San Diego and Kearny Mesa locations only, is the ability to broadcast your wedding on the website for guests unable to attend so they can still share your special day. There is a nominal fee of $25.00. The Recorder/County Clerk’s website is

Documents And Fees

In addition to completing the application, you must also show a valid photo identification card or passport. The document must show your date of birth and your full legal name (no abbreviations or initials). A copy of your birth certificate is also handy to take along, but is not required. Marriage license fees for San Diego County are currently $50.

Type Of License

Public – You may be married anywhere in the State of California. A witness is required and the marriage becomes public record Confidential – You must marry in the county where the license is issued. No witness is required. Only the bride and groom may obtain a certified copy of the license.

Time Frame

The license is valid immediately upon issuance and remains valid within the State of California for a period of 90 days. You may apply for your license at any time. However, you may want to avoid waiting until the last minute and obtain the license about a month in advance.

What About Prior Marriages?

You must provide proof of a prior divorce, death or annulment if that event happened within the last 90 days prior to you applying for a new license. For divorced persons, the divorce decree must be final prior to application for a marriage license.

Age Requirements

Both male and female applicants must be 18 years of age in order to apply for a marriage license. For anyone under 18, there are additional requirements that must be met, and you should contact your nearest County Clerk’s office for additional information.

Filing For Your License

The officiant or minister performing the ceremony is responsible for filing the document with the Recorder/County Clerk’s office within 10 days of the ceremony. Certified copies of the license are available approximately 2 weeks after the filing, and may be obtained at the Recorder/County Clerk’s office for a nominal fee. Brides may need to obtain a few copies of the license in order to facilitate name changes with government agencies, banks etc.


Should you have question prior to applying for a marriage license, please contact the Recorder/County Clerk’s office at 619-531-6248 or check out and click on the appropriate link at the bottom right-hand corner of the page under County Clerk Services on the web.

Where do I go to obtain a marriage License?

Five locations of the Recorder/County Clerk’s office that process marriage licenses are open from 8:00am to 5:00pm, Monday through Friday.